top of page

Review: "Darkest Flame" by Donna Grant

Synopsis from Amazon:

In Darkest Flame by Donna Grant, the Dark Kings have fought for centuries to preserve their dragon magic. But one of the most powerful warriors of his kind will be put to the ultimate test. Is he strong enough to resist his greatest temptations? Or will he be forced to surrender―body and soul?

HER BEAUTY IS A WEAPON. Denae Lacroix is a beautiful MI5 agent on a deadly mission. Sent to the Scottish Highlands to spy on the mysterious Dreagan Industries, she discovers too late that she's been set up―as human bait. She is an irresistible lure for a man who has not seen or touched a woman for centuries. He is a man with a destiny―and a desire―that could destroy them both…

HIS PASSION IS A CURSE… It's been twelve hundred years since Kellan has walked among humans―and there's no denying the erotically charged attraction he feels for Denae. But as a Dragon King, he is sworn to protect his secrets. Yet the closer he gets to this smart, ravishing woman, the more her life is in danger. All it takes is one reckless kiss to unleash a flood of desire, the fury of dragons…and the fiercest enemy of all.

Released: April 29, 2014

Pages: 384

My Review:

So a little bit of a background story on how I was introduced to this author and therefore this awesome series. This past Christmas my boyfriend kept asking for ideas from me and I already have everything else I could possibly need so I told him I wanted him to go into Barnes & Noble, head to the romance section, and pick me out a book that he found interesting.

Christmas evening I opened up Passion Ignites (Dark Knights #7). My boyfriend was upset that it wasn't the first book in the series, he kept stating it was the first book of two in the section at the book store (I later went to the book store and he was correct- it was the first book of two, in the new releases section). I started reading it a few days later after all the family events had ended and I couldn't put the book down. He was so proud of himself for picking a book out that I actually truly enjoyed. Fast forward a few months later I have started to buy the early books in this series every time I go to the book store to add to my to read list, and today I just had to start from book one.

The one thing I really enjoy about series like the Dark Kings is while they are a series, they can be read as a standalone if needed (just like my all time favorite book series by Lynsay Sands).

Now back to Darkest Flame! My own personal weird opinion, but I hated the lead character's name. I couldn't stand it so I had to change it in my mind from Denae to Deanna. Anyways besides that, I started reading Darkest Flame and ten chapters later (make that fourteen chapters as I squeezed four more in) I had to force myself to stop reading so I could get ready for bed (I hate what my 7am job does to my reading habits). My boyfriend actually came in the room and took the book so I would actually go to bed.

I absolutely enjoy the writing style of Donna Grant, she is very detailed and doesn't rush anything. Most romance books that I have read seem to have the relationship rushed to the point where they are in love in the beginning of the book instead of how it would actually be in real life. Kellan and Denae were fighting their feelings for each other without realizing they had feelings for each other. But to witness a love like theirs would be truly amazing.

I don't know that I would have normally picked this book out for myself during my many trips to Barnes & Noble, but let me tell you how happy I am that my boyfriend thought this would be a book that I would enjoy. I just never had read anything in the past that related to dragons but it is a series that I will catch up on and continue to read for as long as they are published.

Without giving any spoilers to those who have yet to read this series just know that Denae is a bad ass female who could take care of herself and doesn't need a prince charming to rescue her and Kellan is..well he is a dragon so enough said.

A paper crush was totally formed with Kellan and he is definitely a man I would want to meet one day! Five stars!

MEET THE AUTHOR

Donna Grant is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than forty novels and novellas spanning multiple genres of romance. She was born and raised in Texas but loves to travel. Her adventures have taken her throughout the United States as well as to Jamaica, Mexico, and Scotland. Growing up on the Texas/Louisiana border, Donna’s Cajun side of the family taught her the “spicy” side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin’ and bareback riding. Her childhood dream was to become a professional ballet dancer and study under the amazing Mikhail Baryshnikov. Though she never got to meet Baryshnikov, she did make it to New York City and performed in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Later, Donna’s love of the romance genre and the constant stories running through her head prompted her to sit down and write her first book. Once that book was completed, there was no turning back. Donna sold her first book in November 2005 while displaced from Hurricane Rita, a storm that destroyed portions of the Texas Gulf Coast. Since then, Donna has sold novels and novellas to both electronic and print publishers. Her books include several complete series such as Druids Glen, The Shields, Royal Chronicles, Sisters of Magic, Dark Sword, Dark Warriors, and her new series, Dark Kings. Despite the deadlines and her voracious reading, Donna still manages to keep up with her two young children, four cats, three fish, and one long haired Chihuahua. She’s blessed with a proud, supportive husband who loves to read and travel as much as she does.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page