top of page

Review: "Burning Desire" by Donna Grant


Burning Desire

(A Dark Kings Novel, #4)

by Donna Grant

Synopsis:

The Dark Kings have fought for centuries to preserve their dragon magic. But can one warrior resist the greatest temptation of all...?

A DESIRE THIS POWERFUL

In his quest to destroy the Dark Fae - his nemesis-the Dragon King known as Kiril goes to Ireland as a spy. When a gorgeous, mysterious woman tried to seduce him, Kiril instantly sees through her glamour of the Dark Fae beneath. Shara isn't just any Dark; she's from one of the most powerful bloodlines- and despite the dangers, Kiril can't stay away from her. He's enthralled by her smile, enslaved by the undeniable passion...

IS A WAR WORTH FIGHTING FOR

Shara has one chance to make things right with her family- and to prove her worth. It seemed like such an easy mission...until she actually meets Kiril. His charm, his sexual magnetism is too much for her to ignore. Shara knows that falling into Kiril's arms can bring her nothing but trouble. Yet she discovers an inner strength she didn't know she had...and an attraction that knows no bounds. But is her desire for Kiril worth the risk of eternal doom for them both?

MY REVIEW:

For the first time in days, Kiril almost felt like himself. He was still on guard, but he was more relaxed. Perhaps it was because he knew what he was about.

Or maybe it was because he wanted to shove aside the food, yank her to her feet, and toss her atop the table to have his way with her.

Just like the previous additions to this series I loved loved loved this story Donna Grant gave Kiril. While this one took me a little longer to read, I believe it was because Kiril wasn't at Dreagan allowing there to be constant involvement of other dragon kings, I still enjoyed it immensely. I was shocked when I started to read the first pages and came to the realization that Kiril's mate would most likely be of Dark Fae! Scandalous!

"I asked you a question. You will answer."

Fear kept her silent for a moment, then she remembered who she was. Shara narrowed her gaze on him. "I'm not yours yet, nor will I be if you continue this."

"According to your family, you're mine," he said and leaned close, squeezing her chin until tears burned her eyes.

I felt for Shara, she was born into a family she didn't belong with. She did was she felt was right and was punished for doing so, but she loved her family and wanted to do anything to get back into their good graces. I can understand that one hundred percent. When she met Kiril and had second thoughts on her mission she tried finding a way out so she wouldn't piss of her family too much.

One thing that I really enjoyed in this novel was the little peeks into Lilly's life. Initially when she was introduced in Sammi's story I thought that she had been sent to Dreagan from the person who keeps attacking the Kings, especially when she helped Sammi leave Dreagan. The way she stated that she had to be home at a certain time just seemed off to me. Now in Burning Desire we see a little more into her past and that doesn't seem to be the case anymore for me...but I guess we will see. I have my own hopes for Lilly.

Burning Desire had so many twists and turns when you arrived at the end of the novel. Just like the previous novels you were reading at the edge of your seat wondering how in the world would they get out of the danger they put themselves in? I'm waiting for the ball to drop when a dragon king doesn't escape the Dark Fae like every dragon king before.

So many questions still remain from reading the third addition to this series: Will Rhi be okay? Who was Rhi's dragon king lover??!?! Why won't anybody say his name?! What did the Dark Fae want that the early King of Kings hid? What was Ulrik's plan and is he really the one who is behind everything? And seriously why aren't the Kings catching on that their mates are special when it comes to their powers or the Dark Fae's powers?! I mean come on they are smart, sexy men...they should have figured this out already!

I enjoy Donna Grant's writing and will be jumping right into Hot Blooded (#4) when this review has been published. I hope some questions will start to be answered even if more questions come from those answers! I just need to know! For now Burning Desire received a five star review from me, I love the storyline too much to give it anything less. Although I can say I'm still crushing on Tristain so I didn't crush much on Kiril. :(

BUY LINKS!

MEET THE AUTHOR

Donna Grant is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the sizzling Dark King series featuring dragons, immortal Highlanders, and the Fae.

She was born and raised in Texas but loves to travel. Her adventures have taken her throughout the United States as well as to Jamaica, Mexico, and Scotland. Growing up on the Texas/Louisiana border, Donna’s Cajun side of the family taught her the “spicy” side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin’ and bareback riding.

Despite deadlines and voracious reading, Donna still manages to keep up with her two children, four cats, and one long haired Chihuahua.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page