top of page

Review: "Hot Blooded" by Donna Grant


Hot Blooded A Dark Kings Novel #4

by Donna Grant

Synopsis:

Laith was powerless not to respond.

Their eyes met again, held. He felt an uncontrollable, undeniable pull to this woman and he fought against it. Hard. It was more than just lust. This...feeling...was on another plane all together...

DARKNESS AND SECRETS SURROUND HIM

His name is Laith. To most, he's known as the owner of a local pub near Dreagan. But little do his patrons know that beneath his handsome, charming exterior Laith has the heart and soul of a Dragon King-one who wields control by keeping his friends close and his enemies closer. Until a beautiful, mysterious stranger enters the picture, and sets his whole world on fire...

SHE IS HIS SALVATION

To learn the truth about her dead father, Iona has returned to Scotland only to learn that she's part of an ancient pact with Dreagan-one that will threaten the fragile peace with the Dragon Kings. Gorgeous, sly Iona isn't like anyone Laith has ever met before...and she harbors a secret that others would kill to possess. Will she complete him-or destroy him? Passion always comes with a price...in Hot Blooded by Donna Grant.

Purchase Links:

My Review:

This addition to the Dark Kings series pulled me in from the first chapter and didn't let me go! I did not want to put this one down for anything! I was hooked and would read this whenever I had a free moment. The previous book took me two weeks to finish and I think it was because Kiril was away from all the other Kings. I really enjoyed having multiple Kings present in the book! With that being said I think Laith and Iona are my favorite couple so far!

Laith was so far from being ready for a mate when Con mentioned Iona coming into town and stating one of them needed to get close to her. The attraction between the two of them was almost instantaneously and they both were fighting it for their own reasons.

“You keep doing that, and you'll find yourself mated quick enough." "It's no' for me. I'm perfectly content just as I am." Ryder made a face. "Are you insane? why say something like that and temp the cosmos?" Laith watch him walk away, wondering if he had just drawn the interest of fate.”

Hot Blooded was different than the previous books because Iona wasn't kidnapped by the Dark and a King wasn't kidnapped. The previous three had a similar storyline and this was different but no matter what I love this series. Again I loved getting even more insight into Lilly's life and I'm excited that the next book is about Rhys and her! The glimpse into the next book just made me super super happy!

I feel like we received more information that any of the previous books had offered us. Con seems to be changing and I don't understand his relationship with the Light Fae Queen at all. I'm so confused on who Rhi's lover could have been- we got a few hints in this past book like his scent so now I have to pay attention to the clues given in the next few books. When do we have to wait for Con's book?!

Anyways I love this series and this addition to the story was no different. I totally had a crush on Laith and was super excited to "read" this story unfold. I can't wait to pick up Night's Blaze.

Simple Spoiler: I'm sad I wasn't able to see Laith and Iona mated by the end of the story. I understand that Iona didn't believe in love before meeting Laith and it would take time for Iona to want to be mated for a lifetime but still...I was a little sad.

MEET THE AUTHOR

Donna Grant is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the sizzling Dark King series featuring dragons, immortal Highlanders, and the Fae.

She was born and raised in Texas but loves to travel. Her adventures have taken her throughout the United States as well as to Jamaica, Mexico, and Scotland. Growing up on the Texas/Louisiana border, Donna’s Cajun side of the family taught her the “spicy” side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin’ and bareback riding.

Despite deadlines and voracious reading, Donna still manages to keep up with her two children, four cats, and one long haired Chihuahua.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page