top of page

Review: "Love Me Never" by Sara Wolf


Synopsis:

Don’t love your enemy. Declare war on him. Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to Buttcrack-of-Nowhere, Ohio, to help her mom escape a bad relationship. All the girls in her new school want one thing—Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter's never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he's never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face. Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game. The goal: Make the other beg for mercy. The game board: East Summit High. The reward: Something neither of them expected. Previously published as Lovely Vicious, this fully revised and updated edition is full of romance, intrigue, and laugh-out-loud moments.

Purchase Links:

My Review:

I started reading this book in my car in the Barnes & Noble parking lot because I was too excited to wait and drive home to start. I started about 3:00 and read the first chapter before I was about to die of a heat stroke in my black car with leather seats on an 85 degree day. I just finished it about ten minutes ago with a two hour break while I watched The Catch with my boyfriend. So it took me like five hours to read...I DID NOT want to put it down.

It was funny.

It was heartbreaking (that Isis thought the way about her future).

Again, I was laughing multiple times throughout the story.

"Did you have fun? How many boys did you make out with?" she asks. "Seventy. At least."

"How many shots did you take?"

"Fourteen. I let go of the wheel halfway home and Jesus drove me the rest of the way."

WORST THING EVER, the next one doesn't come out till November. I have to wait FIVE months to know what will happen with Isis! I can't do it, I need to know!!! AHHHH!!!

Isis is a seventeen year old girl who doesn't want to ever fall in love again. She was majorly hurt after she loved the first boy and she doesn't want to love again in her life. She doesn't believe love is for her. The used to be fat ugly girl, in comes Jack.

Jack Frost, I mean Hunter, is a total asshole to most girls at East Summit High. The first encounter with Isis leaves Jack punched in the face (Go Isis!). From that moment on a war is started between the two of them. They both have so much they are hiding from their past and as the war goes on more and more is coming to light for the both of them.

“I would love to slap you right now, but I’m currently wielding a nine pound ball and I’m afraid that would be called murder.”

Sara Wolf had me laughing and smiling so much that my cheeks hurt after reading some chapters. Seriously this book is written in such a perfect way that you can envision some spunky hilarious purple streaked hair girl talking in front of you instead of reading the pages.

This book hits so many issues that are "taboo" in most daily conversations- domestic violence, sexual abuse and other topics such as verbal abuse, suicidal thoughts/actions, losing weight, getting through the hell that society calls high school but it never went overboard. I really appreciated the times when Isis is thinking back on her difficult past and deliberately states that it is nothing compared to the lives that some woman have to face-women like her mother. Sara Wolf was able to bring up these topics without being harsh about the realities or shoving her thoughts down her readers throats.

“I’m gross. Look at me – getting all sloppy in front of my mortal enemy. Unexecutable. Inexhaustible. Un…un…under the sea.”

I was starting to crush on Jack, he was thawing out towards the end when he starts to realize his own feelings. I was starting to put the pieces together about Sophia, Avery, and Wren's past towards the end and I can't wait for the release of book two so my questions will be answered. This book has five stars written all over it!

MEET THE AUTHOR

Sara Wolf is a twenty-something author who adores baking, screaming at her cats, and screaming at herself while she types hilarious things. When she was a kid, she was too busy eating dirt to write her first terrible book. Twenty years later, she picked up a keyboard and started mashing her fists on it and created the monster known as the Lovely Vicious series. She lives in San Diego with two cats, a crippling-yet-refreshing sense of self-doubt, and not enough fruit tarts ever.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page